A Revolutionary Guide to Holiday Gift Guides

my cup of tea: Lists of things I adore & want to signal boost. Some have structure/theme, some don’t. Looseleaf Editions are the ones that don’t. For more in the my cup of tea series, amble here


 

Alright, so capitalism needs to be dismantled, yes—but that doesn’t mean gift-giving has to be anti-revolutionary. Gifts are one of my love languages. I love giving and getting as ways of affirming that we are in each others’ hearts. And I love meta-lists. So to celebrate the winter joys of holiday gifting, here is a guide to gift guides! Happy holidays.


 

The Feminist Killjoy Gift Guide

via The Belle Jar

A long list of fabulous products from indie artists. I love the nerdy inclination of this list. Feminist nerds, rejoice!

feministhpshirt

My faves: “Misandry” Hand-Stamped Bracelet, “Go Away” Knit Cap, “Fuck the Patriarchy” Banner, “Cats Against Cat Calls” Tote Bag, “Valar Morghulis” Phone Case, Feminist Harry Potter shirts (“The Fucks I Give Are Like Horcruxes – Very Few And Hard To Find.”)

 

25 Gifts For The Future Revolutionary In Your Life

By Hannah Giorgis, via Buzzfeed

A gift guide for woke folk cos “the holiday season might be a capitalist conspiracy, but sometimes even revolutionaries like presents.” Truth.

(I don’t need to tell you this, but don’t read the comments on this one.)

desmondtutsweatshirt

My faves: Feminism Is For Everybody embroidery, Queer and Trans Artists of Color: Stories of Some of Our Lives by Nia King, The BreakBeat Poets: New American Poetry in the Age of Hip-Hop, Micah Bazant posters, “If you are neutral” sweater (I WANT THIS SO BAD), Stop Telling Women To Smile tote

 

The Ultimate Black-Owned Online Business Holiday Gift Guide 

By Bryanda Law, via Quirky, Brown Love

These are limited to U.S. online shops, but the list is lengthy and lovely. I like how this list is divided up by types of people you might be gifting, such as “For Your Fashion-Forward Boyfriend, Husband or Brother in College” or “For The Bookworm” or (my fave category) “For The Carefree Fashionista.” There’s fab stuff for all ages!

orchid2

My faves: wool ties from My Suited Life, Bags from Gregory Sylvia, Sunglasses and Prescription Glasses from Bohten, Flower crowns and accessories from Adorned by Chi, Stationary from Nicole Marie Paperie, Pillows from Don’t Sleep Interiors, Clothing and Accessories from Orchid + Spice, Clothing from The Honorary Citizen, Clothing and Hats from DPipertwins

 

Your Ultimate Feminist Holiday Gift Guide

via MAKERS

A solid slideshow. I especially love the cutesy pastel items. For the friends who believe we can smash the white supremacist hetero patriarchy while decorating our homes with adorable throw pillows.

FeministGifts

My faves: ‘This is what a feminist looks like’ mug, ‘Smash The Patriarchy’ feminist throw pillow, ‘Feminist Fox Doesn’t Care For Your Misogyny’ iPhone case

 

Holigay Gift Guide 2015: For Feminists Who Live, Breathe, Wear, and Drink Out of the Movement

By Carmen Rios, via Autostraddle

This guide is well-organized into types of gifts (mugs, shirts, books, household items, and so on) AND subverts society’s concepts of gender and sexuality! What more could you want?

safespace

My faves: Safe Space pencil case, “Smash the Patriarchy” pendant, Subversive Cross Stitch Book (and I don’t even cross stitch).


 

Have you stumbled across other great guides to revolutionary gift-giving? Let me know!

signature

Leave a Reply

