New Year, New Page: 2016 in Review

2016-in-review

2016 was a year of struggle and resistance. A year of heartbreak and heartache. A year of tragedy and horror. A year of fighting, fighting, fighting. A year in which trauma ripped me away from solid ground. But it was also a year of grand adventure and steadfast love. It was a year of strengthening and growth. I’m looking towards 2017 now, not with empty optimism, but with resolve and grit.

In 2016, the majority of the books I read were written by women of color authors. In 2017, I resolve to amplify marginalized voices even more. I resolve to use my meager platform the best I can to raise & rise. I’m ready.

2016 Book Stats

Total Books Read: 89 (90 authors)

Books by Women Authors: 80/90 (89%)

Books by Authors of Color: 62/90 (69%)

Books by Women of Color Authors: 54/90 (60%)

 

signature

One thought on “New Year, New Page: 2016 in Review

Leave a Reply

